Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

carry and digit carry definition

Status
Not open for further replies.

max_imum2000

hello
i am very new to electronics and learning , so excuse my stupid questions from now and then.
can anyone please explain what is carry and what is digit carry (not the flags the math itself)

thanks

I'm sorry. Im not quite sure what you are asking. Do you mean:

the carry is the bit gets set (=1) whenever two single-digits add up to be too large?

ie. in the decimal system (with digits 0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9). if you add 9+2 by hand, 9+2 > 9(the largest digit) and so a carry would occur producing a 2-digit number 11 (where the leftmost 1 is the result of the carry, since the adding the numbers in the "ones" position caused it too be too big it had to "carry" over to a "tens" digit.

or in binary (with digits 0,1): a 1+1 operation is bigger than the largest digit available (a 1) and a carry would occur producing an answer of 10

Last edited:
The digit carry is a bit that can be used when the two low order nibbles of a byte add up to more than 15 which is the largest value that can fit in four bits. The uses for this bit are probably as rare as hen's teeth.

So a carry bit represents when there is an overflow for a digit into the next order of magnitude....and a digital carry represents an overflow nibbles?

Papabravo said: