Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Can CCP do this on 16F876A? :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

bjox1

Hello friends,

I am stuck with a problem and will kindly appreciate any help on this.

I have got two TTL signals ranging from 500 Hz to 10kHz. I am trying to measure the delay of one with reference to other. As the signals can be of any frequency I am not sure how to use CCP for this task. I have searched a few topics on here but couldn't find anything appropriate.

I am a newbie and wold really appreciate any help.

Thank you all in advance

bjox

Presumably the two frequencies are identical?, otherwise it wouldn't be possible.

If you XOR the signals together, this will give you a pulse representing the phase difference between them.

Hi Nigel,

Thank you for the reply.

Nigel Goodwin said:
Presumably the two frequencies are identical?, otherwise it wouldn't be possible.
I am sorry for not providing enough info. YES, the two signals at any given time will have the same frequencies.

If you XOR the signals together, this will give you a pulse representing the phase difference between them.
I am very thankful to you for giving this idea but would really appreciate if you could explain it in a bit more detail. Probably if there's a circuit to look at?? For instance, what will be the output from an XOR and what will be the input to my PIC?? And finally what method I will have to use to get the phase difference in the PIC? [I apologise if I ask too much]