Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

buck regulator schematic (simple)

Status
Not open for further replies.

thundar

Hi,
I'm new to buck regulators and would like to put together a very simple circuit to study the behavior. I'm using a bx-24 module to generate pwm logic-level signal at 14Khz. I don't want synchronous buck yet, but will probably do that next. The input voltage is 13V and I want to step it down to around 4V at 500mA. I'm not concerned about details like output ripple yet. I just want to get a basic circuit working with discrete components. All the circuits I can find on the internet don't show discrete solutions....but rather chips with integrated fets. I've looked everywhere for example showing discrete fets, etc.. and can't find it.

Thanks deeply for your help.

thundar:D

very simple circuits for the common topologies here:
**broken link removed**

building a circuit to understand the fundamentals is fine, but you're much better off with an integrated solution for any projects. the hard part is the feedback circuit and the switch driver circuit, as well as various forms of compensation that most of these chips perform.

The "hard stuff" you mentioned is the fun stuff that I want to attempt using the bx-24 module. ;) The primary goal is learning, not a robust functional product.

Thanks!