Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

bsf assembler command works different between PIC16F887 and PIC16F84

Status
Not open for further replies.

zobbo

I'm a newb learning about PIC and Assembler at the same time. I have the PIC Simulator IDE and also a mikroElectronika EasyPIC6 to play with. I'm reading the book by John Morton. "The PIC Microcontroller, your personal introductory course"

If I run the following code on the Pic Simulator IDE (and I assume on the real chips) it behaves differently depending on which chip I am using. The PIC16F84 will leave bits 0,1 and 2 on PORTA set. The PIC16F887 will leave only bit 2 set. So the command bcf on the later chip seems to set the bit specified and clear all the others. Could somebody explain this behaviour to me or point me to. I'm really sorry if this is very elementary.

Code:
    org 0
Start:

bsf            STATUS, 5
	movlw       b'00000000'	
	movwf       TRISA
	bcf            STATUS, 5

movlw       b'00000011'
	movwf       PORTA
    	bsf            PORTA,2      
	goto 	$

end

Last edited:
I would suggest your 'problem' is far more likely with the simulator than the PIC, or that you haven't set the port correctly (are pins RA0 and RA1 used for another purpose on a 16F887, and you're not setting then as digital I/O).

I would also suggest you don't use 'STATUS, 5' - I've no idea what that means? - use the supplied MicroChip mnemonics like everyone else.