Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Bridge Rectifier

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wizard564

Hello,

I am a novice with electronic circuits, but attempting to expand my knowledge. I am trying to convert 14VAC to 12VDC with about a 15A load on a riding lawn mower for LED lights. I installed a 200V 60A Bridge Rectifer (NTE53016) and my output voltage is only 4VDC at full rpm on the stator. I also installed a 4700uf capacitor across DC + and -. Am I correct in assuming my bridge rectifer is too large for my project? Would a GBU1510 be a better choice to achieve my 12VDC output? Kind Regards!

The bridge rectifier is way over rated but that doesn't matter. It will take a maximum of 200V at 60A. If you full bridge rectify 14VAC you should get approximately 20VDC. Something wrong somewhere?

Hello,

I am a novice with electronic circuits, but attempting to expand my knowledge. I am trying to convert 14VAC to 12VDC with about a 15A load on a riding lawn mower for LED lights. I installed a 200V 60A Bridge Rectifer (NTE53016) and my output voltage is only 4VDC at full rpm on the stator. I also installed a 4700uf capacitor across DC + and -. Am I correct in assuming my bridge rectifer is too large for my project? Would a GBU1510 be a better choice to achieve my 12VDC output? Kind Regards!

Make sure the bridge is connected to ~ symbol and output is + and -

otherwise, something is wrong with your mower, your bridge or other.