Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Bipedal Chicken Walker

Status
Not open for further replies.

ultimatekiller

Greetings!!

I am now a Final Year student and i m planning to make a bipedal chicken walker. Something like ED209.
Can anyone guide me on this? I mean if you got any reference, please post it here... thx :)

The electronics are easy, it's the mechanics that are tricky. You need to think carefully about the balance of your robot, how the robot will balance throughout the entire cycle of its movement, and how the robot will balance when that cycle is interupted during stopping.

No doubt you've looked up "chicken walker" in wiki already, but there's not much useful there. Note, though, that the inverted knee on birds is actually an ankle - kind of helps you put things into perspective.

If you ask me, the biggest downside of the prevalence of computers as a means of entertaining children is the negative impact it's had on the production of proper toys. You used to be able to get all kinds of clock-work toys, and amongst them were a variety of walkers. The reason I bring this up is because there use to be a lot more of things like these about:
https://www.dannabananas.com/?q=node/28
This is one way of solving the problem of balancing a walking robot, in my opinion, one step evolved beyond having a roller-skating robot (where the legs move, but both feet are always in contact with the ground).