Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Beggining with PIC's

Status
Not open for further replies.

cne

Hello,

I am fairly new to PIC's and I was wondering, if I were to learn a programming language, which would be the best to start with. I have some experience in the actual programming of the chips themselves, and building the hardware, and I have a PICkit 2 programmer to do the programming of HEX files to the chip.

Thank you in advance,

Cameron

Assembler is really the best, because it's completely free, and it ensures you have to understand the hardware.

Cameron,
Don't forget to have a look at Nigel's excellent PIC tutorial page....

Higher level languages are really good when you are producing complex designs but if you want to know how a micro can be programmed to its fullest, and see what it is doing, you have to use ASSEMBLY CODE. This is only suitable up to 2k of program. That's up to 20 quarto pages of program.

Learning assembler has advantages and gives you a firm foundation regarding THAT processor. But chips with a decent amount of memory are getting cheaper every day and assembly level programing is by far the in minority.

If you do not know any programming language and know little or nothing about microprocessors....

then learning to program assembler for a micro controller can be a lot to take in at once. Especially on a low or mid level PIC.

If that is the case I would suggest learning a higher level language like C on a PC first.