Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Battery powered USB...What's the easiest?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ronvegas

Hi,

I'm new to this stuff, so will apologise in advance, if needed.

I am wanting to power my USB modem (voyager 105) which I use for work as a service engineer to check for a DSL connection. Normally, I would connect this to my laptop to power the modem, but what I am looking for is the ability to do away with the laptop at times, and gain the power needed from a more convenient source.

I saw the homebrew USB chargers that you can make, so bought some of these parts from my local electronics store to use with a 9v battery.

(1) I got a 5v voltage regulator (the guy in the shop recommended the 2amp one, instead of getting the 0.5A one I planned on getting) He said that the bigger amp will allow the reg to run cooler and not thermal cut-out, but to ensure the device doesn't want to draw more than the 0.5A rating of USB or it could fry the modem.....is this right?

(2) He suggested using AA batteries to provide the 9v, instead of an actual
9v (PP3) battery, for longer life, and that a 9v PP3 battery will not last very long at all - how long might both examples last?

(3) Will the device, BT voyager USB modem have a voltage tollerance, ie. could I just strap the 9v battery to a butchered USB lead, or will 9v kill the modem?