Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Basic stuff -- Building an audio amp

Status
Not open for further replies.

algernon83

Hey there -- I'm a computer programmer starting to dabble in electronics. I recently acquired a very nice center speaker that draws too much power for my stereo receiver. Can someone please point me in the right direction to learn how to build an amplifier to let me use this thing?

Little more information, please? Size of speaker; impedance (in ohms); desired power level (100 mW: 1 W? 10 w?); input level; power source?

You wouldn't design a program without specs, would you? Same thing applies here.

Last edited:
Unfortunately the reality of the business world very often requires programming with absent or incomplete specs! :)

But I don't need to subject you to that. I'll post that info when I get home from work. All I know off the top of my head is it's an 8ohm speaker with no additional power source; I don't recall its power draw or the output of my receiver -- except that the former is more than the latter. Thank you.

We need to know the power source you intend (or want) to use for the amplifier: batteries? wall wart? dedicated power supply?

Last edited:
Oh, I gotcha. My plan is to use a wall wart, unless it would be a lot better to make a dedicated power supply.