Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Basic battery monitor/charger HELP ME!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

DJAE

Self taught amateur, so please be gentle!
Working a this project for a friend:
A very basic battery charger for a 12v Gel Cell bike battery. All it does is supply an unregulated 15v. I have an opamp configured as a basic comparator detecting the output voltage vaia a voltage divider/pot. the output is pulled low by the load the battery presents (txfmr is 20vA). When the output rises above the full battery voltage the voltage divider sets a reference voltage tied to non-inverting pin of opamp, if this rises above a threshold voltage on inverting input of opamp then the output swings high (toward 9v rail), through resistor, into base of PN2222a saturating it. The relay coil is tied between 9v and collector of transistor and is activated when opamp output swings high.

The charging output (battery) is connected to the n/c of the relay, and when it is activated the output is disconnected stopping the charging cycle.

IT'S CRUDE I know, but on paper should work. I also know there are dedicated comparators out there, but this SHOULD work!!??

I have included my schematic and layout. Please not i didn't have a zener to hand so the threshold voltage to the opamp is currently being set by two 100k resistors (1/2 VCC).

My problem is this: With nothing connected to the output the opamp output is constantly high (about a diode drop below VCC; 8.4 v) meaning there is no output.