Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Bad scope?

Status
Not open for further replies.

upand_at_them

I'm still learning to use my new Rigol oscilloscope and noticed the following. Does this look normal? The scope ground unconnected, probe touching my finger.

Probe/scope set to 10X:
skin10x.PNG

Probe/scope set to 1X:
skin1x.PNG

I'm guessing the ~60Hz is coming from the mains. But 2.5V P-P? And the scope counter shows a different frequency than the Measure function? And shouldn't the 1X and 10X show the same values since the scope is handling the division?

I'm guessing the ~60Hz is coming from the mains. But 2.5V P-P?

That's normal.

And the scope counter shows a different frequency than the Measure function?

You probably need to set some cursors.

And shouldn't the 1X and 10X show the same values since the scope is handling the division?

They won't be the same. You probably have a 1:1 probe setting and a 10:1 probe setting. The 1:1 setting will show actual voltage, and the 10:1 setting will show 1/10th voltage.

Last edited:
Try connecting the probe to the calibration signal. Your manual will tell you what the amplitude and frequency of the calibration signal is (it's usually around a volt and 1 kHz). Then you can a) make sure your settings are correct to read the correct voltage and waveform parameters and b) make sure your probe is properly compensated. Google probe compensation if you don't know what that is...