Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Assistance with L298

Status
Not open for further replies.

mohbet

Hello, I am very new to this stuff, so any help is greatly appreciated: I am trying to drive a 9V DC motor with using an L298n and a pic. I’ve installed the sensors and pic and the program and tested them, all seems to fine on that area; however, my problem lies with the L298: I've build the circuit shown on the data-sheet to control a motor using one of the build-in H bridges with 4 diodes. I’ve tested if the L298 is working as it should by checking the voltages it applies, all that seems to be working as well. But whenever I connect the motor in between the output terminals the voltage drops drastically, and the motor does not turn at all, although the current sensor shows an increase in current drawn. I am using a small motor and within the built-system whenever I connect a 9volt dc battery directly, it draws only around 150ma, so I presume L298 should be capable of supporting that current? Any ideas on what I am doing wrong? Thanks for the help.

Show us your schematic please.

are your batteries/voltage supply capable of giving you enough power to run your motors. Is anything similar happening, when you don't have the pic connected to the H-bridge?

A brand new 9V alkaline battery can supply 150mA for a few minutes then its internal resistance increases and its loaded voltage drops. It is below 7V in less than 1 hour.