Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Are these H-Bridges correct?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jacky Lee

I'm a beginner at electronics, any any feedback would be helpful. So, the basic rundown: I have two motors, and I would like to run them both backwards and forwards, so I need an h-bridge circuit. However, I'm not sure if I am wiring them correctly.

Here are the h-bridges:
**broken link removed**

The D pins refer to pins on an Arduino UNO, which are capable of digital writing.

Here's my thinking:

On Motor 1, if I want to move it forward, I will turn on Digital Pin 1, and turn off Digital Pin 3. If I want to move it backwards, I will turn Digital Pin 1 off, and Digital Pin 3 off.

Also, will I need capacitors / flyback diodes for the motors?

Thank you for any help!

Your biggest problem is the upper MOSFETs as these will require a gate voltage that is 8V higher than their source voltages. With a 7.5V supply (upper source voltage) they will need around 15V on their gates to turn on. Normally the high side MOSFETs are P-type that need a low voltage on the gate. Your other problem is charging the gate fast enough from an Arduino. Depending on what current your motors require I would choose a suitable chip.

Edit, you will need a snubber circuit for the motors. Google DMOS H-bridge and study some of the datasheets.

Mike.

Last edited: