Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Any help appreciated

Status
Not open for further replies.

readings

Hi

I am completely new to this so I apologise if I am in the wrong place etc.

I want to build something which simply put will run up and down some poles according to the program. The easiest way I can describe it is if you think of a flatbed scanner and how the scanning bit moves up and down.

I assume I can take the part from a flatbed scanner while I am figuring things out but I have no idea what I need to learn or the best place to start. I think it would have to involve some sort of a bipolar stepper motor but I am only mentioning that so that you know I have been trying.

I would be grateful for anyone who can advise me where to start or let me know if there is anywhere where you can find people to build things for you for a reasonable cost?

Many thanks
m

If you want good positional control then a stepper motor drive is a good idea. You may be able to use some of the control electronics from the scanner if the chips aren't custom ones. Do some research on stepper motors and how to drive them. That will enable you to determine the requirements for interfacing the drive electronics to a microcontroller.
anywhere where you can find people to build things for you for a reasonable cost?
Well, that all depends on your definition of 'reasonable'.:)