Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Advice Please: Want to Learn Interfacing Computers and Circuits

Status
Not open for further replies.

thegracken

Hello Everyone!

First, I would like to give a real brief background, and let you know my purpose for this post. I am a physics student who has taken one introductory analog circuit design course that covered a bit of digital circuitry. I also have a great deal of experience with programming in C.

My purpose for posting here is that I want to learn how to interface circuits and computers. In particular: I want to be able create a SIMPLE (as simple as possible, because I want to understand every component... without being trivial of course) circuit connected to my computer via USB. I then want to write a linux driver that interacts with the circuit in some simple way.

What I need to know is, what hardware/circuitry should I purchase to make this happen?

Thanks much for any help!

Well, if you want USB connectivity, that means you'll need a USB port at the project end of the cable, so you might be best served going the microprocessor route (PIC, etc.), since these are easily interfaced with USB (I believe some PICs come with built-in USB ports).

This has advantages and disadvantages. On the plus side, it solves the problem of USB connectivity, and gives you a very flexible platform for experimentation.