about inchworm+ and unicorn ...

Status
Not open for further replies.

nietzsche

hi , i am a newbie to this forum ...

i bought an inchworm+ and an unicorn a year ago , and i just finished the assembly today , the module inchworm+ works fine , i tried to program a pic 16f877a and a 18f4550 with the module's ISP connector by connecting an external 40-pin zif socket , i pluged an external 12 volts source to the inchworm+ module , i connected the module to my pc via a rs-232 cable , and the module works fine with mplab-ide downloaded from the official site microchip ...

everything is ok for the inchworm+ , i think ...

but the module unicorn sucks ...

i downloaded the file Unicorn 18F4550 +BOR.zip and the file EXTRACT_ICD2_4550.zip from the official website blueroom electronics , i tried to program the 18f4550 with both of the files , none of them gives satisfaction , the unicorn just refused to be recognized by windows , when i pluged the unicorn to the pc wia an usb cable , windows found an unknown device , and mplab-ide could not identify the presence of the inchworm+ ...

so what's going wrong ?

since this is my first post , i won't use any link ...

thanks for your help ...

ps : i apologize for my english , i am not a native english speaker ...

The Inchworm+ / Unicorn combo requires a driver to work in Windows. When you installed MPLAB 8.xx that driver should be available. Here's the official Microchip ICD2 troubleshooting guide. I've also attached a working Unicorn ICD2 hex file.
**broken link removed**

Attachments

• ICD2_4550.hex
    77 KB · Views: 125
Last edited:
thanks , i'm going to try your file ...

i just installed the latest mplab-ide , the version is 8.66.00.00 , if the problem persists , i will try to uninstall and reinstall it ...

another question :