Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

A Real Newbie...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Garry2005

Hi All:

I'm doing a project that looks like only a microcontroller will be able to handle efficiently. Problem is...while I'm an older dude who's pretty well tech-savvy, I'm brand new to the world of microcontrollers and don't have a clue where to start. About the project: I thought it was original, but come to find out, LOTS of folks have been here before me. Anyway, it involves making a psuedo-cockpit for Flight Simulator that adds realism (switches, levers, buttons, knobs, etc). I have all the control functions needed to run F/S, and I've found all the scan-codes for keyboard emulation. Hacking a keyboard is an option, but there are some inherent problems with this approach: (1) Some of the functions are multi (and sequential) codes, for example: Setting the Altitude Bug is CTRL+SHIFT+Z. (2) I need to turn on (and leave on until the next toggle of the function) specific LED's. Autopilot, for example: I need to send a momentary "Z" from the keyboard, which enables A/P and sets (and holds) the A/P indicator lite, until I send another momentary "Z", which disables A/P and turns the light off.

Again, this could be done with hardware, but there are a lot of functions involved, which would require a mountain of hardware and wiring, and I'm thinking that a microcontroller would do most...if not all...of these functions a whole lot easier and more efficiently.