Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

9V to 5V

Status
Not open for further replies.

Matt D.

I am new at all this electrical stuff. I can build circuts without resistors or capacitators because I don't quite understand the relationship between curent(I),Volts(V),and resistance(R) in the equation V=IxR. I just have one question: I am building a curcuit with an inpu of 9V. I need it to have an output of 5V. How would I do that?

I am new at all this electrical stuff. I can build circuts without resistors or capacitators because I don't quite understand the relationship between curent(I),Volts(V),and resistance(R) in the equation V=IxR. I just have one question: I am building a curcuit with an inpu of 9V. I need it to have an output of 5V. How would I do that?

Without using resistors or caps, put the 9v battery in series with a 4v battery, + to +, or in series with a 4v Zener diode.

So you mean that if you connect two batteries + to + you just subtract the voltage. Thats a good thing to know. Thank you very much.

P.S.-What does a regulator look like. I serched it on google but all I could find was regulator test kits.

If you're using a 9V battery an LM7805 won't last very long because it will stop regulating properly when the battery voltage drops to 7V, for best results use a low dropout regulator.

simple way

Hi Matt D,

Why not simply use 2 resistors in a potential divider netowort?