Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

9v school project

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrGreen

Hi , my 8 year old son has a school project due . It involves triggering or switching a 9volt battery anywhere from fifteen to twenty times per second . The end function is not important it just has to perform that many times a second w/ 9volt output . I have limited to NO circuit experience and really want a better understanding of how this project is supposed to work .

Thx
Matt

With the little information that you provide, I'll hazard a wild guess on what might be appropriate. The rate at which the output has to switch is just fast enough that it precludes the use of a relay, so a semiconductor switch powered by the battery itself is best. You also need an oscillating circuit that provides the 15 to 20 times-per-second control to the switch. The oscillator is probably easiest using the old favorite, the 555 timer IC, configured as an astable multivibrator (an oscillator that keeps going). The on/off switch can be done quite simply by an appropriately biased PNP transistor, like a 2N3906 or virtually any PNP transistor.