Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

9V, 555, Relay, Photocell, and 500Hz Frequency

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChristopherTate

Hello,
New to the forum, and electronics. Actually, I'm an artist working with basic electronics for my senior thesis and I have a schematic I've been working on that I can't seem to wrap my head around.

Here is what I am trying to accomplish.

I have 40 small speaker elements that I would like to use. Each element will be connected to an individual 555 astable oscillator, you know the one, the timer, flasher, simple frequency, square-wave generator. Here is a pic just in case:

**broken link removed**

Anyways, I would like to run each circuit with a 9V battery that is connected to a 5V regulator. Additionally, I would like to make use of photocells to control the on/off state of the circuit, so it can be turned off by simply putting it in the dark, total darkness I should say. The oscillator should also generate a frequency within the range of .5-500Hz. (I've been connecting CDS cells in place of the 68K resistor to vary the frequency.) I understand the circuit as functioning like so:

9V battery > 5V regulator to conserve power > NPN Transistor or relay that
either opens the circuit, or closes it > and powers the astable oscillator
555 circuit > fed into the speaker.