Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

8-way I/O switching

Status
Not open for further replies.

rattanee

Hey everyone, I'd appreciate a bit of help with a circuit I'm trying to design. Please keep things fairly simple as I'm not a pro, merely a hobbyist.

The goal: 8 way switching between the in/outputs of PCBS, including power supply lines and audio lines. If any of you are familiar with arcade cabinets, I am trying to design my own 8 way switching circuit for JAMMA boards. (The remote control solution available on ebay is just not to my taste)

A bit of scope to those who may not know much about arcade boards:
The JAMMA standard is an universal pinout of 2x28 pins on a PCB edge connector, carrying all input/output signals as well as power connections.

What I'm looking to switch:
Switches that go to joysticks/buttons are pulled down to ground when activated.
Monitor RGB and sync signals
Unamplified audio signals.
+12v, +5v (High current, can be up to 10 amps or more on occasion), +5v, Common GND

My idea:
I'm planning to use 27F251 8 way multiplexers to select which of the 8 boards' data lines get sent to the output connector (that goes to the monitor, joys, etc). about 40 of these would be needed (I do not need all the pins of a jamma connector as some are just keys or NC, etc). These ICs would switch all logic level signals, including the unamplified mono.