Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

556 Question for GSM Car Starter

Status
Not open for further replies.

barjebus

So I've only really gotten into actual breadboarding, etc. in the last two weeks so I'm an absolute noob when it comes to this kind of thing, so please forgive my ignorance, and be clear with any advice you've got handy!! Here goes...

Building a GSM remote car starter for someone. The key fob for the remote starter has a lock button and a start button. The lock button must be pressed for 1 second (approximate) and then released for one second. After these two seconds have passed, the start button must be pressed for 4 seconds.

I at first was going to use two 555 timers and then instead began playing around with a 556 timer. My first thought was to just use both timers as astable, but the problem is that both go high as soon as current is applied, and then go low. I needed to delay the second timer by those two seconds before going high for 4 seconds.

So then I thought perhaps a monostable one shot timer on one side (go for one second) which would be connected to the second timers trigger pin such that when it goes low, the second timer would then be activated high. However, it seems that monostable timers seem to require a switch be pressed to flip its state, so I'm not sure how I could make that happen.