Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

3V DC Motor, MOSFET Driver review?

Status
Not open for further replies.

shimniok

Thanks in advance for your time. I'm a hobbyist, CompE degree from '93. I am interested in selecting a complimentary power MOSFET IC -- in h-bridge config -- to drive a 3V hobby motor via Microcontroller.

Hopefully someone can check my selection process. I've spent some time reviewing Sedra & Smith, looking at a few websites on motor drivers and mosfets, and reading a couple of app notes explaining MOSFET datasheet curves.

At this point, I am looking for input on my in-development heuristic for selecting an appropriate MOSFET given battery and motor specifications.

Motor: let's pick this Mabuchi FA-30-RA-18100 hobby motor for sake of argument. 2.1A stall current, 0.56A max efficiency. 1.5V - 3.0V DC operating range.

Power Supply: Also, let's say I am going to use 2 x AA alkaline batteries (as I understand, 3.0V charged, 2.0V depleted). Microcontroller will run off 1.8V-5.5V. So logic level out will range from 2V - 3V.

I'd like to keep parts count down, so driving gate directly from MCU is preferred over using MOSFET driver. I'd like to permit either PWM or continuous. I would run a fairly low PWM frequency (my thinking being that it would, I hope, reduce gate capacitance current draw? and make gate charge/capacitance issues less important in selection?)

My heuristic so far is...