Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

24V 14.5A 230W DC Motor Protector

Status
Not open for further replies.

ElektronikNoob

Hi everyone! I am an electronics noob and would like to ask experts on the best way to protect a motor from burning up.

I have a 24V 14.5A 230W DC motor connected to two (2) 12v batteries in series. The motor runs perfectly while it is connected directly to the batteries but I know that this isn't the best practice.

What do I need to add in order to protect the motor and prolong it's use. I know that full charged batteries runs at roughly 28.5v and would like to keep the motor running as long as possible. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Hi maxheadroom ... I actually tried to use a 30A car fuse but it kept melting after about 10-30 minutes whenever I run the motor. BTW this is for a bump car if that matters

Hi EN,

Running a 24V motor from 28.5V should be fine.

The danger with any motor is over-current which, generally, can occur in two situations.
(1) at start up
(2) while on a heavy load (a motor takes little current off load but as the load increases the current increases).

Another danger is over-temperature, which could be caused by over current and/or lack of cooling.

A short over current, typically at start up, will not normally damage a motor because the heating effect will be small. On the other hand, a long over-current could raise the temperature of the motor and possibly damage the motor.