Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

230VAC to 1.5V-24V adjustable 0-16A current. Which chips do I need?

Status
Not open for further replies.

king.oslo

Hello,

I am a newbie, and I want to make a power supply that can convert 230VAC to 1.5V-24V ourput with adjustable current of 0-16A.

Which are the major ICs and components I should lookup to get the job done?

- Is it better to use a transformer or resistor to reduce the voltage from 230V to, say 30V?
- I thought I could use a rectifier to convert 30VAC to DC
- But still I need some kind of circuit to convert 30VAC to adjustable current 0-16A 1.5-24V. This I have no idea how to do. The largest adjustable voltage regulators I found could not do this (as far as I can tell). I thought maybe I can use a transistor with a PWM signal and a capacitator to adjust from 1.5-30V? Will this work?
- But how to I get the adjustable current?

Thank you for your time.M

Last edited:
1) transformer! not a resistor.
2) Rectifier to convert AC to DC at 30 volts.
3) "PWM and Cap to adjust voltage" ????
4) Adjustable current? Lets assume you are making a bench power supply. Adjustable current....there often is a current knob. It does not adjust the current but is a current limit. Lets say you are powering a radio with your power supply and then you drop a screw driver into the radio. The current limit will cause the power supply to 'shutdown' until the short is removed.