Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

16F628 - How many lines of assembly code...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jon Wilder

...would it take to exceed the program EEPROM space?

While I have picked up PIC programming pretty quickly I'm still learning about this particular chip so I have a couple of beginner questions -

Speaking of memory, in order to address all of the general purpose RAM locations, would bank switching be required to access RAM locations 0xA0 - 0xAF?

Also...when learning a mid-range PIC such as the 16F628, with writing assembly how difficult is it to migrate to the higher level PICs such as the PIC18 series?

Yes the 16F use bank switching, the 18F much less so. It's actually easier to code for the 18F over the 16F, also your code will most likely be smaller.
The 18F1320 is a nice 18pin chip.

As the 16F628 has 2k of memory and instructions use 1 location each then it will take 2048 lines of assembly to fill it. No banking of program memory is required as there is only 1 bank.

The RAM located in bank 1 will require bank switching to access it or it can be accessed via the FSR register.

As Bill stated, the 18Fs are easier to program.

Mike.

Just to elaborate on Pommie's statement.

Bankswitching for GPR is based on a 7 bit memory BANK = 0-127 bytes. GPR bank 0 = 0-127, bank1=128-255 etc.

Bankswitching for FSR referenced GPR is based on a 8 bit memory Bank = 0-255 bytes, so FSR considers GPR Banks 0 & 1 as a single bank (0).