Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Working on a circuit to fade LEDs in/out

Status
Not open for further replies.

alokw

Hello there,

I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to electrical design, so I'm hoping to get some help.

I've purchased (12) MR11 LED lamps (with 12 individual LEDs in each). These run at 12V and draw approx. 40 mA.

I'll be wiring these with a switch inline directly to a 12V car battery. When the switch is turned on, all of the LED lamps should fade in at somewhere between 1 and 3 seconds. When the switch is turned off, all of the LED lamps should fade out at the same rate.

I did some research online, and came up with a potential solution, but I'd like to run it by you all, who know what you're doing.

**broken link removed**

Any thoughts?

Thanks!!!

I guess you can make it very easy:

Put a capasitor in parallell with the leds. In adition, you can have a zenerdiode in series with the cap. It may work (little bit to tired to think right now):

Attachments

• ledCapp.png
    ledCapp.png
    379 bytes · Views: 419
If you want it to look like they are on a dimmer then you will have to use pulse width modulation. Google around....lots of samples out there.

Good Luck.

If you want it to look like they are on a dimmer then you will have to use pulse width modulation. Google around....lots of samples out there.

Good Luck.