Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What to buy for pictures of my scope's screen?

Status
Not open for further replies.

atferrari

Most Helpful Member
My cheap digital camera has no manual focus adjustment.

Trying to take pictures or record short videos of what is going on my scope's screen has failed up to now. Always out of focus.

Asking for help on this, I was advised to use a webcam (with focus manual control) or even a surveillance camera.

I have no experience at all with that.

After finding out the high prices of the cameras with focus manual adjustment I am looking for a cheap solution still allowing sharp pictures/videos.

Any reasonable concrete solution?

Gracias.

I use an ancient Nikon Cool Pix camera 3.2 MP and equally outdated 96 MB CF card. It has optical zoom and works well. That is all I use it for, and it is quite superior to my much newer Canon for photographing the LCD screen, because it has genuine optical zoom. It is also pretty good at capturing photomicrographs shot through a regular 10X ocular.

I suspect on the used market today, they are quite cheap. (I bought my new a long time ago, and it is not for sale.)

Here is an example from earlier this year: https://www.electro-tech-online.com/threads/serial-communication-protocols.118067/#post968951

John

Last edited: