Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What signal might one measure from a simple antenna

Status
Not open for further replies.

StudentSA

Good Day,

Firstly I am a complete beginner in RF design but please bear with me. I would like to understand a little more about antennas, lets take a di-pole for eg. I would like to know what electric signal would i measure at the connection point? so if i hooked up an appropriate oscilloscope what would I see? I need to understand this so that I can build on what the RF amp stage is trying to accomplish.

I have this possibly crazy perception form my readings that an antenna could be considered like a band pass filter? meaning that the more you deviate from the quarter(or was it half) wavelength the less signal you will pick up at that frequency.

Thanks,
StudentSA

It depends on the incoming signal strength, but probably only uV

You also need a scope that considerably exceeds the frequency you're using, so probably low frequencies and LARGE aerials.

StudentSA asked:
so if i hooked up an appropriate oscilloscope what would I see?

Have a look at my pictures and you will see!

Using a ground mounted vertical antenna which is about 10meters long (high?) and connecting to my oscilloscope, I saw several volts of distorted 50hz (mains frequency).
So I terminated the coax from the antenna with a 50 ohm resistor, and the result can be seen in the picture "On the scope".