1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Vero layout for 18F26K22

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers' started by Nigel Goodwin, Oct 30, 2017.

  1. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,291
    Likes:
    647
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    I thought I'd post this, as others might find it useful?. As we've been discussing LCD/TFT usage with PIC's in the Oshonsoft Forum, and the 18F series seemed to be popular, I've ordered a couple of 18F26K22's (chosen for their 28 pin S-DIP package and large memory), so have designed a layout using my standard tutorial board system with ten pin molex connectors. As I'm likely to be playing with 3.3V displays, I've added both 5V and 3.3V regulators, with a link to choose which voltage you want - which saves messing around with level shifters to the display.

    Anyway, I've got the board built, plus a connection board for the display (ILI9341), and I'm just waiting for the chips to turn up - I'm 'hoping' they will arrive today, as they were sent via UPS this morning. Basically I'm typing this while keeping on IP camera, that I've stuck in the front bedroom window, so I can see if a van arrives :D

    18FBoard.png
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2017
  2. Ian Rogers

    Ian Rogers Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,245
    Likes:
    911
    Location:
    Rochdale UK
    You sound like a kid on xmas eve!!!! What software do you use for schematics, or do you draw manually??
     
  3. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,291
    Likes:
    647
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    I use Lochmaster for the Vero layouts, and SPlan for circuits.

    I hate waiting for parcels to arrive - which it hasn't today :(

    But basically I was playing with the camera, just because I could :D
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. granddad

    granddad Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    Messages:
    758
    Likes:
    76
    Location:
    Worcestershire UK

    Long live Vero... I've been trying out these Velman IC layout boards, 28 pin IC is a bit of a fiddle as the busses run every 8 strips ( 16 pin ICs ) ,full size a bit big but cut in 1/2 just right....
    velbd.jpg
     
  6. Rich D.

    Rich D. Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Messages:
    243
    Likes:
    20
    Location:
    West Chester, PA
    I reluctantly use those kinds of boards also. But they make me suffer in many ways. Most notably,
    1) there's no good places to put a dual-row post header to connect > 8-wide ribbon cables.
    2) The groups of 3 holes are too small for me. A standard DIP covers one hole, so one side of the chip has only one extra hole for wiring. Of course it usually takes 2 holes on any pin to daisy-chain a circuit, so that means a lot more wires have to be used to wire one side of an IC. If there was one area that allows for some longer and/or wider chips it would help a lot.
    I would make my own and sell them but with my marketing skills I'd end up using boxes of these boards for furniture.
     
  7. jpanhalt

    jpanhalt Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5,979
    Likes:
    510
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH, USA
    ONLINE
    Rich D.
    I buy mainly two types of boards:

    1) One for circuits and such has plated through holes and is laid out pretty much like the standard solderless breadboard. I have a few really cheap ones that have copper on one side and no plated through holes. They work OK, but are slightly more difficult to use.
    2) The other type is double sided with all holes (not plated through) on 0.1 centers. They work for passive filters and some RF stuff because of the inherent ground plane. They are a little harder to find, but a saw kerf isolates nice copper areas for attaching components.

    I also have vero boards like Nigel shows, but I have never been very fond of them.

    John
     
  8. be80be

    be80be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,827
    Likes:
    138
    Location:
    morristown,tn
    ONLINE
    I love the stuff years ago I got some double sided boards that was great cant find them no more.
     
  9. Ian Rogers

    Ian Rogers Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,245
    Likes:
    911
    Location:
    Rochdale UK
    The trick to these is they need cleaning before use... Every time I use veroboard I have to spit shine them up... Then cut tracks that are excessive.. Then they behave...
     
  10. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,291
    Likes:
    647
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    I can't say I've ever found any need to clean them, but it's always advantageous to make tracks as short as possible.

    Here's a further board I made this week, an TFT/LCD board for the 18F series - while it's designed for the ILI9341, it will also directly accept a number of ST7735 boards, or a even a 5110 (as long as you have the correct type). And because the 24F series have configurable peripheral pins you can also use it with that as well, just reconfigure the pins to be the same as the 18F. The extra little socket at the right accepts the other side pins of a 5110, or provides support for a larger display.

    18F_LCD.png
     
  11. Ian Rogers

    Ian Rogers Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,245
    Likes:
    911
    Location:
    Rochdale UK
    You keep them in the cellophane until needed. I, on the other hand, have 10 at a time, so the copper blackens over time... If I try and solder... Dry joints all over the place...
     
  12. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,220
    Likes:
    644
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    ONLINE
    hi,
    I find that Duraglit wadding gets the dirty tracks clean.

    Nigel Goodwin
    Assembled/wired the TFT lcd/Arduino UNO, downloaded the program from your link, will give it go.
    E
     
  13. jpanhalt

    jpanhalt Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5,979
    Likes:
    510
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH, USA
    ONLINE
    Soldering has not been the problem. Probably the greatest detractor for me is the absence of plated holes. Also, I have a system based on Eagle that gives me schematic capture. Here's a snippet:
    upload_2017-11-1_6-52-51.png

    Sorry about the quality of the picture. You can probably imagine that it is a template of a standard breadboard on a 0.1" grid. The grid on my screen is barely visible. I do the schematic in Eagle in the usual way. Eagle ensures I have all the connections needed, but not the breaks (shown by short dashes). The "X" marks a pin location on the ICSP header that is not filled ("aux" location). It helps keep me from plugging it in reversed. Dots are unused pins. I then route on the top and solder on the bottom like this:
    upload_2017-11-1_7-5-44.png

    The snippet is the same section that is in the board layout above.

    I looked up Lochmaster after Nigel mentioned it and noticed that it has some sort of connection checker. I was not aware of that, but to me it is a big plus as my mind is becoming like the inside of a pumpkin. If that acts like schematic capture, I will probably try it.

    John
     
  14. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,291
    Likes:
    647
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    You mean I treat mine with loving care? :D

    I do leave them wrapped until use, but once I've opened it (and I use the larger sheets and cut them down) it's then subject to the air.

    I've now (eventually!!) sorted out my TFT problems, where only the 128x128 one would work with my 24F board - as the 240x320 worked fine with the 18F board, I carefully examined the SPI settings of the 18F program while studying the datasheets, and found I'd got SMP and CKE set the opposite way, reversing those cured all my problems :D

    I look forward to hearing how you get on Eric.
     

Share This Page