Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

USB Microphone?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sjaguar13

I have a microphone that I want to make into a USB microphone. I am not too good with electronics, though, and can't figure out how to do it. I run into a few issues. First, I don't even know how to wire the stupid thing. Next, how do I use it? Are there going to be driver issues or anything? I have seen several USB microphones and they claim to work with any recording software. What I can't tell though, is if they come with some sort of drivers, or if XP knows it is there. Can anyone help me?

sjaguar13 said:
I have a microphone that I want to make into a USB microphone. I am not too good with electronics, though, and can't figure out how to do it. I run into a few issues. First, I don't even know how to wire the stupid thing. Next, how do I use it? Are there going to be driver issues or anything? I have seen several USB microphones and they claim to work with any recording software. What I can't tell though, is if they come with some sort of drivers, or if XP knows it is there. Can anyone help me?

I suggest you give up on the idea!, it's FAR more complicated than you think!, just buy one - or use your sound card mike input!.

sjaguar13 said:
...I didn't think it would be easy, but it's $80 to buy one:
**broken link removed**