Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

US 120VAC/240VAC question

Status
Not open for further replies.

mramos1

I am not an electrician and this is not 100% electronic, so I figure I would ask here. Any electrical types out there. This is for 240vac in the US.

I have an Intermatic ET103C that I fixed. I want to know if I can run my
hot water heater with it (240vac 30amp 2-30 amp breakers).

The timer has a 120vac pair for the clock and relay coils, and two SPST 30amp 230vac relays.

It clearly has 2 relays and they are not connected in any way.

manual (4 pages)
**broken link removed**

Last edited:
I'm not domestically electrically biased and I'm not that familiar with US power.

That looks like it might be alright but isn't it safer to switch the hot rather than the neutral?

I will break the two hot lines and drop across the relay contacts. I sort of screwed the drawing up. will kill the drawing. Glad you caught that.

I guess the big question is, is one leg 120vac. I think it is, will get a meter and check, if to so the clock side with one leg, and then break the hot wires and put them across the relay contact.

Thanks

USA uses a split phase supply to domestic premises. This is:
Line1 (Hot -120V) and Neutral and Line2 (Hot +120V).

The heater should be connected to the Line1 and Line2 wires, which will give 240V (120 + 120) You will be switching 2 hots (thats why there are the 2 sets of contacts in the time switch).