1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Uploadable file size

Discussion in 'Site Issues & Feedback' started by alec_t, Mar 30, 2015.

  1. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,251
    Likes:
    1,218
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    I see the 'Upload a File' function still has a 32GB limit! That's just asking for a denial-of-service attack and is totally unjustified. I would have thought a 5MB limit would be more than adequate. On the rare occasion that a large high-res image file, for example, was required it could be split into smaller files for upload.
    Huge files should be discouraged. Not only are they a problem for users with capped, dial-up or low-bandwidth internet connections, they also waste space on the site's server and slow down the site browsing experience.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,484
    Likes:
    503
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    I'm with you alec_t, though I would say 50MB would be best, or maybe even the standard 25MB (most email services limit files to this size). 5MB may be a bit too low, but you're correct--32GB is ridiculous!
     
  3. KeepItSimpleStupid

    KeepItSimpleStupid Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,915
    Likes:
    1,096
    I think both of you guys misplaced a decimal point.

    That's 8 DVD's. Some file systems won;t even allow a file bigger than 2 gigabytes.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Pommie

    Pommie Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    10,013
    Likes:
    317
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    ONLINE

    How do you know what the limit is?

    Mike.
     
  6. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,484
    Likes:
    503
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    Nope, it very clearly shows 32GB.

    Click the "upload file" button and it says right there in the popup.

    Matt
     
  7. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,484
    Likes:
    503
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    Pardon the fact this was taken on my phone, i am not at my computer at the moment

    Screenshot_2015-03-30-22-27-38.png
     
  8. Pommie

    Pommie Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    10,013
    Likes:
    317
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    ONLINE
    Not on my machine! upload.png
     
  9. KeepItSimpleStupid

    KeepItSimpleStupid Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,915
    Likes:
    1,096
    OK, it says 32 GB, but it might actually be something else like 32 kb or 32 Mb. 32 Gb is an awfully large limit.

    On some forums, the user has a quota for the total amount of files uploaded.

    Your 1.421 kb file as an example is 0.14 gb.

    So, somebody has messed up a decimal place. e.g. 32 B, 32 kB. 32 Mb, 32 GB or 32 TB. You can scratch off the unreasonable numbers like 32 bytes and 32 TB.

    B is usually Bytes and b is usually bits. k gets wierd. Can stand for 1000 or 1024.
     
  10. Pommie

    Pommie Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    10,013
    Likes:
    317
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    ONLINE
    Just tried uploading a 2G file and it proceeded as normal until I cancelled it.

    Mike.
     
  11. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,484
    Likes:
    503
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    Hmm, did you disable some of the fancier Xenforo settings? Mine is streamlined on every one of my machines (and my phone).

    Um, may want to double-check your numbers there :p 1.421 kB is closer to 0.0000014 GB (unless I'm completely missing something).
     
  12. KeepItSimpleStupid

    KeepItSimpleStupid Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,915
    Likes:
    1,096
    i missed a comma. 1.421 KB was supposed to be 1,421 KB. There is also a difference between kb (killobits) and KB (kilobytes).

    Sorry.

    The point though is 32 gigabytes is a HUGE file.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,484
    Likes:
    503
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    1,421 KB is still only 0.0014 GB though. But yes, 32 GB is HUGE!
     

Share This Page