Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

transistor switch help

Status
Not open for further replies.

large_ghostman

Most Helpful Member
i am not good with transistors but i intend to nail it once and for all! cant give exact reason for a couple of days because this project is a competition between me and dad and i dont want to give him help to cheat! so cant tell you want exactly i am doing yet.

i need to switch 12V inductive load with a pic BUT i have to use the transistors in the following diagram (reason dosnt matter at the mo), now i think the following diagram is how i need to do it

sorry i keep getting there was a error uploading file!!! i will be back with question and drawing soon as i can get it uploaded

ok changed browser from firefox to chrome this should work :D

trans2.JPG

i have both data sheets in front of me, so can someone take me through step by step referencing the Data sheets how i go about working out the resistors!

i understand Q2 needs to pass 200 mA tops so rule of thumb means base resistor needs 10 x lower current so 20 mA , first part that confuses me tho is the Hfe for Q2 is 100 min so surely the base of Q2 could be run at 2mA and still be fully switched on??

i also understand rule of thumb 2 says R1 is 10 X R2??
i have no idea in this configuration how R3 is worked out.