Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Transistor based AC amplifier - how to build with limited details.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ara Ghazaryan

I am new to electronics. And somehow I got the following task:

goal: Amplification of signal from function generator (FG) using home-built circuit based on transistors.
details:
FG output -6 - +6V.
needed output after amplification -24 - +24V.

details I have -
FG
transistors TO92 2N5551 936 (others can be ordered)
resistors - any
DC Power supply - 24 V (can be regulated).
Frequency this thing will operate in - 1-15 Hz
diodes and capacitors can be ordered if needed.

I already built a simple amplification circuit for DC output (shown attached), but now it turns out I need alternating current in the output.
415cb717-0a6d-42fc-9df8-9fe8545f1398.png

I researched and stumbled upon Push-and-pull amplifier circuits. But if I understand correctly -- these will output -12,5 V to + 12,5 V range, right?
Can you suggest which directions I should look into?

Thanks

What are the very important specifications for voltage and current of the light bulb?
Did you look at the datasheet of the transistor to see if it can drive the voltage and current of the light bulb?
Why are you shorting the positive-going output of the function generator with the base-emitter diode of the transistor? When the AC from the generator swings negative then it might damage the base-emitter diode that has an absolute maximum allowed voltage of 6V.