Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

transistor amplifiers im special

Status
Not open for further replies.

the cracken

I cant say Im new to electronics because im not. Iv done a national dip and i did pretty well but iv forgotten mostly everything!

iv read up on it but i still can find anywhere that say how i would go about picking the right component values for a class a signal transistor pre amp for my guitar.

**broken link removed**

are these all the components i need?
how do i choose these components? i have read about how they work and i know what they do and exactly how the transistor works but i don't know how to pick the values?

i know that the biasing resistors have to put a biasing voltage of half the input signal+the voltage drop of the transistor (0.6 usually). but what about the base to emitter current?

The input resistor is that only there to stop over current of the base?

the collector and emitter resistors is the only reason their there is to stop too much current going though the transisor?

im trying to make a preamp with a 2n2222 with no success. im using a spice program which is a pile of crap! its called LTspiceIV if you know of a better one for free please tell :)

but i was also wondering how you find out the transistor is good for the application?

thanks for any help you can give me

Last edited:
Please post a propper schematic rather than an ASCII. If you must use an ASCII then use code tags so it preserves the formatting.