1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Trackpad Driver

Discussion in 'Computers and Networks' started by TtOoWwAa, Mar 2, 2014.

  1. TtOoWwAa

    TtOoWwAa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes:
    2
    Hi

    I have a new laptop running XP however I cannot seem to find a built in way to disable tap to click, so I can move the cursor without it clicking all the time.
    I need a program that contains the driver files and A tool for configure the trackpad.

    In device manager the ID of the trackpad is: ACPI\PNP0F03\4&FF861E6&0
    its just named 'Microsoft PS/2 mouse'
    computer make and model is: Advent Modena (may be M100/M200, but the computer has no model number on it.)


    I cannot seem to find a driver for it on the internet ,or on the manufacturers website and there's is no settings for it in control panel.

    Where I can find one?, the chipset driver and the rest of the drivers are installed.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2014
  2. Ian Rogers

    Ian Rogers Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,148
    Likes:
    907
    Location:
    Rochdale UK
  3. Ian Rogers

    Ian Rogers Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,148
    Likes:
    907
    Location:
    Rochdale UK
    One other thing... What OS are you running.... If it's windows8 then the driver is a weird one... I have a samsung laptop and the touchpad is a multitouch pad... It needs windows 8 drivers
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. TtOoWwAa

    TtOoWwAa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes:
    2

    I'm running XP pro ill try extracting everything from the chipset driver executable to the desktop

    edit:

    I extracted them but this only extracts the drivers themselves, since I already installed the chipset driver a few days ago and cant see any tools to change the trackpad I'm not sure what to do next.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2014
  6. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,484
    Likes:
    503
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    Hi Tt. Great to see you posting on the forums again!

    Try this:

    Go to the Control Panel and in the search bar type in "Mouse" and open it. When it comes up go to the "Device Settings" tab, click on "settings", then in the properties window click on "Tapping". Uncheck the box labeled "Enable Tapping" and click "OK". Then hit "Apply", then "OK" again.

    Let me know if this works.

    Good luck!
    Matt
     
  7. TtOoWwAa

    TtOoWwAa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes:
    2
    I dont have a device settings tab however i've searched through the tabs and buttons but there's nothing there to do it
     
  8. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,484
    Likes:
    503
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
  9. TtOoWwAa

    TtOoWwAa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes:
    2
    Ive tried downloading this twice now and after I extract it it says 'setup.exe' is not a valid win32 application
    the file is the 7/8/xp/vista one.
     
  10. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,484
    Likes:
    503
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    Instead of running the setup.exe that's in the top level of the directory, try going to WinWDF --> x86 (assuming you're using a 32-bit OS) and run setup.exe from in there. It may or may not work, but it's worth a shot.

    If this still doesn't work your download may be corrupted and you'll have to try again.

    Matt
     
  11. TtOoWwAa

    TtOoWwAa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes:
    2
    Same error
     
  12. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,484
    Likes:
    503
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
     
  13. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,484
    Likes:
    503
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    You said you downloaded it twice already, which makes me think there's something you aren't telling us that would explain why it's not working. More information about the specs of your laptop -- make, model, age, OS version, OS type (32-bit or 64-bit), and any other problems you may have had recently with it.

    If you don't give us all the information, I really can't help you.
     
  14. TtOoWwAa

    TtOoWwAa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes:
    2
    laptop is 2008, make is advent model is 'modena' OS is windows xp pro SP3 X86 OS ive tried on two laptops , same error

    Havn't had other problems with it.
     
  15. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,484
    Likes:
    503
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    Well I've got one more option for you. It has to be done from IE though, in case you've been using other browsers like Chrome or FF it may not work.

    1. Delete the synaptics folder you have downloaded
    2. Open Internet Options from the Control Panel and under "Browsing History" click "delete". Chedk the "Temporary Internet Files" box, click "delete", then click "OK"
    3. Re-download the synaptics folder using IE (It may be that when you downloaded it again it took it from the temporary files instead of the actual download site, which means if it was corrupted the first time it would be corrupted the second time)
    4. When the download completes, try running setup.exe again
     
  16. TtOoWwAa

    TtOoWwAa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes:
    2
    deleted the folder, cleared all cookies, content, caches, temp files downloaded program files, history downloaded in IE, same error again
     
  17. Ian Rogers

    Ian Rogers Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,148
    Likes:
    907
    Location:
    Rochdale UK
    According to all the relevant posts on the advent forum... They all say it is configured as a ps2 mouse... You could try downloading an XP touchpad synaptics driver and see if it works....
     
  18. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,484
    Likes:
    503
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    That's what the link I gave him suggested, and that's supposedly the one Tt tried to download already.
     
  19. TtOoWwAa

    TtOoWwAa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes:
    2
    I tried using device manager update driver and pointed to the INF in the x86 folder ('Have Disk') but then on reboot the track-pad didn't work full stop so it must be another make.

    tried another similar make using the same install method but that didn't work either
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2014

Share This Page