Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Student electronics tech. question

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a student Electronics technician at my local community college. I have lots of old home theater receivers and equipment that are obsolete. Home theater equipment gets obsolete pretty quick which is why I have so much old HT equipment. Do you think it would be a good idea to open up one of these old receivers and see all the parts inside as kinda a way to get hands on experience or just to get a good idea of what some electronics circuits really work? Any caution to doing this? Any testing I could do inside with my digital multimeter? Thanks for any help.

You realy will not see much in those. It will most likely be a lot of surface mount components.
Maybe if one was made with through hole technology it would be worth opening.

I'm a student Electronics technician at my local community college. I have lots of old home theater receivers and equipment that are obsolete.

Do you think it would be a good idea to open up one of these old receivers and see all the parts inside as kinda a way to get hands on experience or just to get a good idea of what some electronics circuits really work?
Yes, I am surprised that you have not dived in there already!
I would have done in my earlier learning days.

Any caution to doing this?
What else are you going to do with the stuff? It is redundant and presumably cost you nothing, so if it is completely destroyed, what have you lost? Not much.