Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Slowing an input signal down - capacitors??

Status
Not open for further replies.

DJ T.

Good evening all!
I am a hobbyist just getting started with electronics (discrete circuits, at least). I am working on
interfacing an Arduino microcontroller with a water heater. One of the things that I absolutely want is a
way to measure power consumed.
The simplest way to do this appears to be with an IC such as an Allegro ACS756 because it'll measure up to
50A, but I am also open to other suggestions! The only issue that I have is to get a halfway accurate sample of
power used is to make a bunch of measurements per cycle (10? 20?) and take the average. I would like to use the
microcontroller for other things also and am worried about overloading the processor.
So far, the best way around this seems to be to use a sample and hold setup (LM398?), but then I still have to
strobe the sample-hold chip while locked to the peak and valley of the AC wave going through the ACS756. Simpler
solution would be a capacitor to just hold the output signal of the ACS756 for a few milliseconds.
1 complete cycle of AC power in the US (60Hz) is 16.6 milliseconds, time from 0 to first peak should be around
4ms. I am VERY willing to sacrifice accuracy over a few cycles between the time the heater turns on and off
because it should be dealing in minutes, while the inaccuracy waiting for the capacitor to charge and
discharge is a few cycles...