Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Simple PIC question

Status
Not open for further replies.

George L.

Hello,

I was wondering about the LED bar on a site which has alternating flashing patterns.

**broken link removed**
(watch the video on the bottom)

can something like this be done with a PIC? I have no programming experience, but am average at electronics. Would it be difficult for a beginner to do?

Nigel, this is your area of expertise!

thanks,

George L.

Yes, that can be done. It's quite easy. The individual LEDs aren't even controlled separately; it looks like just two separate banks, each bank being wired together.

Mike

Thanks for the respone,

I would like to purchase a pic programmer, such as the one here:

**broken link removed**

Can someone tell me which PIC chip to use that would make it easy and educational. I would use this project to learn programming, PIC, etc.

thanks,

George L.

I agree, two output pins and one input pin (or more inputs for more effects) on either a PIC or Atmel will be pretty easy.

The 16F84 PIC (popular chip) or ATMEL 1200 (A non-RAM version of the 2313 popular chip).

Check digikey for prices, or other supply houses.. I personally would go with a Tiny11 for $0.50 a chip (keep the spares around for other projects), I have some on order to re-design a project using Atmel 1200s.

Atmel way: