Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

'sbit' in avr?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ajax12

hello all :)
I have worked with 8051 microcontroller and this is my first time with avr. I am simply trying to run a dc motor using switches and an atmega32.
With 8051, i could set the specific bits to what i want so i could use only the bits for what i need.
sbit motor_front=P0^0;

now how do i do this in AVR? i.e I dont want to use the whole port. I just want to check if the first bit in portx is high or low.. using the whole port is not helping. I am not able to control a simple dc motor..
any help will be useful.
thank you

There are 2 possible ways to do that.
First the command to clear and set single Bits in Registers:
sbr r16,0b01000001 ;Sets bit 0 and 6 in Register r16
cbr r17,0b00000011 ;Clear bit 0 and 1 in Register r17

Then to set and clear Bits in I/O's:
sbi portd,0 ;Sets bit 0 of PortD
cbi portd,1 ;Clear bit 1 in PortD

Not all of the I/O registers can be manipulated with bit operations.
Sometimes it is necessary to load an I/O register value into a multi use register, manipulate the values and then write it back to source.

To make a branch instruction appending from a single bit, you could store it into the t-bit of the SREG.
bst r16,3 ; stores bit 3 of r16 into the t-bit of SREG
brts jump ; If t is set a jump to label jump would be processed
nop ;other code will be processed
nop
nop

jump:
;Your Code

Another possible way is to make an AND with the according bit: