1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Record Signal (IR from pin)

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers' started by AtomSoft, Apr 30, 2009.

  1. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    Got it this is my RC6 Power Button
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 11, 2009
  2. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    Our Start Headers are similar but the data is quiet different lol
     
  3. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,324
    Likes:
    653
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    The funny thing with RC5/6, because of the bi-phase modulation even a minor change can look very different - be interesting to work out the actual binary value of each.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US

    yeah lol i did a test of most of my remote buttons... attached is png's of a few. I have one png saved as 4x zoom so i can see the timing better.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    it shouldnt be hard to decode. Just so tired lol Ill get to it in a bit
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2009
  7. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    ok its harder than i thought. I cant figure where the Leader ends and data begins and that trailer bit omg lol such a head ache. I rather get the logic tool lol
     
  8. oPossum

    oPossum New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes:
    0
    The serial port can't provide much power so the 7805 reduces the power available to the rest of the circuit by quite a bit. The zener regulator was used to allow maximum power to the PIC and IR sensors. If you don't have a 5.1V zener, a blue (or white) and green (or yellow) LED can be used as a crude shunt regulator. See this Instructable for an IR Widget derived circuit that uses LEDs for voltage regulation.

    The schematic you have drawn does not allow mode selection because only one handshake line is used for power. The mode is determined by the power up sequence of the RTS and DTR lines. RTS before DTR is time mode, and DTR before RTS is count mode. Time mode is used for IR demod modules as show in your schematic. This is not the default of the sofware, so it must be changed or no data will be received by the software.

    If you want the most accurate timing info, a pulse detector like the QSE15x or just an ordinary 950 nm IR LED is a better choice than a demod module.

    IR demod modules usually skew the on/off durations by an unpredictable amount. Some are optimized to minimize the asymmetry. RC5/RC6 will work best with 36 kHz modules intended for use with bi-phase/Manchester protocols. They have minimal on/off asymmetry.
     
  9. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    Thanks ill take a look at it.
    Dude for your first post you are starting good! nice work
     
  10. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    I gota check my LEDs lol if i dont have the proper leds can i use a couple in series to create the proper drop?
     
  11. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    heh this will never work for me. I know i have it all setup correctly. Ive dont harder things than this. For some reason it doesnt work so heh forget this. Ill wait untill i order my Logic and be happy then.
     

Share This Page