1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

PSpice frequency limit

Discussion in 'Circuit Simulation & PCB Design' started by Buzz_96, Nov 18, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Buzz_96

    Buzz_96 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes:
    0
    I am told that PSpice can only analyse circuits for 10MHz and below. Why is that anyways? Thanks in advance for answering.
     
  2. MikeMl

    MikeMl Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11,049
    Likes:
    541
    Location:
    AZ 86334
    Spice can operate (mathematically) at any frequency you care to ask it to operate. What is hard is to produce a meaningful circuit description that makes sense when interconnections become more than a fraction of a wavelength at the analysis frequency.

    When wires act like inductors, when wires have capacitance to every other nearby node, when wires act like rf transmission lines, and the models used for semiconductors and integrated circuits only hold for frequencies from dc to a few tens of MHz, it is hard to create a circuit model that reflects reality at 100s or 1000s of MHz.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Buzz_96

    Buzz_96 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes:
    0
    Oh i see.... Thanks a bunch for answering
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. crutschow

    crutschow Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10,592
    Likes:
    477
    Location:
    L.A., USA Zulu -8

    Spice has no inherent limit to the simulation frequency.
    It's limited only by the circuit models used in the simulation.
    You can have transistor models, for example, that go up to the GHz region and can thus be simulated at that frequency.
    The real circuit problems come with all the parasitic inductance and capacitance of a physical circuit as Mike noted.
    If you can make a good estimate of those and put the into the simulation, then you can more realistically simulate high frequency circuits.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1

Share This Page