Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Measuring 20AMP

Status
Not open for further replies.

padu

I'm a newbie in electronics, so before delving into the high amp side of electronics, I found it better to get some advice first.

I need to measure current consumption of two 14V DC motors in parallel under several scenarios (no load, full load, max speed, etc). The motors are of the type found in R/C monster trucks (traxxas e-maxx).

My DMM only goes up to 10 AMP, and on the traxxas forums, I've heard that these motors may go as high as 20AMP. I don't want to burn my DMM (although I believe there is a fuse in there to protect it against overcurrent).

In first place, I will install a 10AMP fuse (could only find a 250V one, is there a problem with that?) between my multimeter and the motor, but it is not going to be enough, as it will allow to measure a few situations only.

Is there any other way to measure high currents?

Considering that I'm a newbie (but I have enough skills to program a PIC, and I even know how to distinguish a resistor from a capacitor :wink: ), how easy is to build a logger with a PIC that will store peak amperes up to 30AMP over time? Is there an IC that does that?

Cheers

Padu

use known low resistance in series with motors, measure voltage drop and apply Ohms Law.
that's exactly how your meter does it.
you can also ask for samples or buy chips from Allegro.
I got few ACS750 but there are ones that cover lower current range...

panic mode said: