Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Learning to program microcontrollers

Status
Not open for further replies.

misterT

Most Helpful Member
These are just my thoughts after few years of teaching embedded systems. I am a student myself and I have learned a lot when teaching others.

My philosophy has always been "By following instructions, you learn to follow instructions". So, we designed all exercises to be very simple with "traps". One example is to sample ADC and output the result as a percentage from 0% to 100%. Most students managed to output figures from 0% to 99%.. and then they had to find out why.

My favorite exercise was the "dice" where you had to generate random numbers from 1 to 6. We gave students a hint that there is a library function called "rand()".. haha.. I know, pretty evil :)

This is what most students wrote first:

C:
int dice;
while(1)
{
    if (button_pressed())
    {
        dice = rand();
        dice = (dice % 6) + 1; /* Limit the range to 1...6 */
        display(dice);
    }
}

I could have won lot of money playing against that code. Every game gave the same sequence of numbers every time.

So.. ~10 lines of code and we had one hour allocated for this one particular exercise. The question was, after the naive approach, how can you make it "more random"?.

The first real "eureka-moment" to students was the realisation of the "while(1)" loop.. and how fast it is.. and it runs "all the time". So, the next version of the program was:

C:
int dice;
while(1)