Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Is it possible (if so how) to use scanf / printf on your own input / output routine?

Status
Not open for further replies.

blueroomelectronics

Is it possible (if so how) to use scanf / printf on your own input / output routine or ring buffer?
Thanks in advance.
Yes, I'm very new to C and currently wrapping my head around pointers & strings.

Most compilers allow you to define std input and output... you just write your own putch() and getch() routines to override the original...

For example.... lets say you are outputting to an LCD

C:
void putch( char ch)
   {
   LCDdata(ch);
   }

The compiler should have this documented...

Thanks Ian, another possible answer was pointed out to me "sprintf" prints to a user defined buffer.

Problem with me I'm learning in a non linear way, probably not the fastest but it works for my old brain. Now I've got to look up putch (XC8 seems to want this defined before it'll allow printf to work, I'm guessing it's telling it where to print)

I'm really starting to enjoy using C (actually XC8) and trying to forget BASIC & Pascal.

Now I've got to wrap my brain around pointers.

Part two, how do I direct printf to a different output device? Since putch function controls the output and is automatically called by printf, how is it redefined?

From the XC8 manual (DS52053B-page 59):