1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

interfacing MCP3204 to monitor solar pane

Discussion in 'Renewable Energy' started by petrollina, May 18, 2013.

  1. petrollina

    petrollina New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Hi,
    I am interested in interfacing MCP3204 to monitor solar panel. Can you elaborate more on this?
     
  2. petrollina

    petrollina New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    [MODNOTE]Duplicate[/MODNOTE]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 19, 2013
  3. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,315
    Likes:
    1,230
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    Post deleted
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2013
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,233
    Likes:
    645
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK

    hi,
    The MCP3204 is a 4 channel SPI controlled 12 bit A2D converter IC, you require a PIC or other type of MCU in order to drive it.

    It is possible to build a small interface for the MCP to connect it to the parallel port of a PC.

    This is the circuit, if you are interested, I will post the Visual Basic 5 code.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 27, 2013
  6. petrollina

    petrollina New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Actually I need something that can be build in a short time,since my main project is about energy harvesting.
     
  7. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,233
    Likes:
    645
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    The two options I have posted are the only way I know how to use a MCP3204, define ' a short time'.:rolleyes:
     
  8. petrollina

    petrollina New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Short time as in can be built and use within a week time.
     
  9. petrollina

    petrollina New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    It could be other way than using MPC3204. As long as i can measure and record the solar panel reading.
     
  10. Mr RB

    Mr RB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4,716
    Likes:
    194
    Location:
    Out there
    Why not just use the inbuilt ADC on the microcontroller?
     
  11. petrollina

    petrollina New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Which microcontroller?
     
  12. Joe G

    Joe G Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    507
    Likes:
    16
    Location:
    Florida. USA
    please reread this again:) also the MCP3204 data sheet:)
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2013
  13. petrollina

    petrollina New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Can I have the coding for Visual Basic 5?
     
  14. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,233
    Likes:
    645
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    hi,
    This zip is the complete VB5 folder for the MCP3204.

    Its not fully commented, so if you have a problem please ask.

    The mcp3204a.exe in the zip will run, ensure that you have the free Visual Basic 5 Runtime files installed in your Widows/System folder.

    The runtime files are a free web download.

    E.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 21, 2013
  15. petrollina

    petrollina New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Thanks.
     
  16. MrAl

    MrAl Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    11,049
    Likes:
    961
    Location:
    NJ
    Hi,

    I would guess that the 10 bit ADC on a mid range PIC chip like the 12F675 would be good enough. Who said you needed 12 bit accuracy or resolution?
     
  17. petrollina

    petrollina New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    For the op amp, other than CAL20 can I use other op amp?
     
  18. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,233
    Likes:
    645
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    hi,
    Its not a CAL20, the printed text is not very clear. its a CA3240

    What OPA's do you have already.?

    E.

    EDIT: I have edited the old drawing to make the CA3240 clear.
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2013
  19. petrollina

    petrollina New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    LM741. What is the function of the op amp? Is it to amplify the voltage?
     
  20. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,233
    Likes:
    645
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    hi,
    The OPA's are to amplify any low level signal to a maximum of +5V for the MCP input.
    If your signals are from 0v thru +5V then you do not require amplification.

    A 741 OPA has a very poor specification and will not give the same results as a more 'modern' OPA.

    For voltage signals greater than +5V, you will have to attenuate the signal.

    For example if your solar panel is a nominal 12V, you will need a resistive potential divider.
     

Share This Page