1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

How to reset "Child lock" on TV without remote

Discussion in 'Repairing Electronics' started by catalinu, Apr 8, 2010.

  1. unclejed613

    unclejed613 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes:
    99
    holding the power button down for 10 seconds is a commom magnavox reset
     
  2. Nixie

    Nixie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    I've tried to unlock a VCR using a universal remote that ran through all the codes (automatically) for all VCRs and finally it stopped on the correct one but nothing on the universal remote would unlock the VCR from 'child lock'.

    I would suggest buying a universal remote that has a 'child lock' function on it and then run through all codes until you get to the correct code for your TV.

    The memory where the detail of the settings for everything (channels, child lock etc.) is in an EEPROM, (Flash Ram) so even leaving the power off for a long time won't help, and unplugging the Flash Ram won't help either as the data (including child lock) is still in the Flash Ram. You could replace the Flash Ram with a new IC which will be blank and the child lock should be off.

    The final method is to get the original remote, but some TVs/VCRs have codes to enter prior to unlocking the TV/VCR.

    Also, the Flash Ram is often a plug-in chip that plugs into a small socket and sometimes the number will start with 24xxxxx.

    Phone up the company that sells the product and ask them what to do, but they will ask for the serial and model numbers of the TV/fridge.
     
  3. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,484
    Likes:
    503
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    If the TV has a child lock, it will be accessible through the menu. Every universal remote should have a "menu" button. It does not have to have one specifically designated for "child lock".
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Menticol

    Menticol Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    681
    Likes:
    35
    Location:
    Bogotá, Colombia

    I think this site will help you, if you manage to get a working universal remote control.

    The site includes a list of each TV manufacturer and the unlocking procedure.

    http://translate.google.com/transla...munidadelectronicos.com/articulos/desbloq.htm
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2012
  6. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,484
    Likes:
    503
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
  7. Menticol

    Menticol Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    681
    Likes:
    35
    Location:
    Bogotá, Colombia
    Sorry DerStrom, it was a Google translate problem.

    Here's the original Spanish article, most of the instructions are easy to guess in English.

    www.comunidadelectronicos.com/articulos/desbloq.htm

    spanish word / english meaning

    presionar = press
    tecla = key
    C/R = remote control
    al mismo tiempo tiempo = at the same time
    "enciende" or "encendido" = turn on
    "apagar" or "apagado" = turn off
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2012
  8. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,484
    Likes:
    503
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    Thanks Menticol. I understand most Spanish, but I figured not everybody would. If you're using Google Chrome, it'll automatically ask if you want to translate it. Just click yes and you're all set. :)
     
  9. tvtech

    tvtech Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes:
    348
    Location:
    South Africa
    I deal with Child Lock issues on sets daily. I have saved EEPROM files from all sets that I have fixed here in the last 5 Years. With Child Lock OFF.

    Solution: I program an EEPROM for the set, replace the original with it...problem solved. Just find a honest TV guy to do it for you. Not expensive, more a hassle than anything else. My charges for this are Minimal, sometimes even free. Depending on the customers attitude :D

    Only condition: bring the set here for repair when it REALLY goes faulty :)

    A REAL bonus for all ETO members is here: All saved files in one folder.

    WONT work. Canno't upload the file. ETO's loss. Trying again...

    Still no go. Outa here.

    Regards,
    tvtech
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2012
  10. iann

    iann New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes:
    0
    I like this forum thanks for bringing programmes like this one
     
  11. iann

    iann New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes:
    0
    my tv is saying key lock and I don't have a remote pliz help it just display blue screen , supersonic led 40"
     
  12. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,235
    Likes:
    641
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    It might help if you provided a few details - such as what country you're in, what make the set is, and what model it is - however, it might very well not be possible without the remote.
     
  13. Tony8222

    Tony8222 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes:
    0
    If anyone is experiencing this problem and they DO have a remote control...........................I am in a hotel room that has an LG tv. For the first few days the tv worked fine. Then after a few days the remote control stopped working. Even the buttons on the side of the tv stopped working. However, when I pushed the buttons on the side of the tv "Child Lock On" would appear on the screen. The only way that I could turn off the tv was to unplug it. I checked the batteries in the tv remote control and they were fine. Then I noticed that every time I pressed any button on the remote control the "DVD" light would illuminate. So, then I pushed the "TV" button on the remote control...........................problem solved. At some point the "DVD" button must have accidentally been pushed in.
     
  14. Vinay Sankar

    Vinay Sankar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes:
    0
  15. tt1987

    tt1987 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes:
    0
    thank ,I tried your way but failed
     
  16. zeropond

    zeropond New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes:
    0
    Hello
    I am new member of this forums site. Your question is about how to reset child lock on the TV without remote is that -
    The child lock stops the button in the first of the TV from in service.
    To start/disable Child lock:
    1.Use the remote ( not disable lacking the remote )
    2.Push set of choices
    3.Compress P downward ( control behind KEY ) double plow set of connections is dyed in colorless
    4.Compress amount awake one time ( this take you into the complex list of options )
    5.The CHILD LOCK choice is at the peak and be supposed to be dyed white.
    6. Apply the amount up key to choice ON or OFF .
    Thank you

    https://community.arm.com/iot/embedded/b/embedded-blog/posts/arm-and-vorago-technologies-take-space-electronics-to-new-heights-by-neil-stroud-director-of-advanced-technology-marketing-arm ] ARM and VORAGO Technologies [/url]
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2017

Share This Page