Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help getting started with AT89 series

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm completely new to microcontrollers so please bear with me. I've tried to read around as much as I can but I'm just lost.

I'm working on a project that I want to integrate this into:

https://www.8051projects.net/download-d221-frequency-counter-using-at89c2051-lcd-assembly.html

So I bought the AT89C2051 microcontroller and went to the Atmel website to find out how to program it. Ended up buying the Atmel JTAGICE3 programmer device that claims to program any AVR microcontroller. My problem is I haven't a clue how to use the programmer to upload the program file provided on the website above. The JTAGICE3 manual on the Atmel website has information relating to connecting it to a JTAG, aWire, PDI, debugWIRE, SPI or SWD target. The datasheet for my microcontroller contains no mention of any of these terms and the pin-out doesn't correspond at all to the JTAGICE3 pins described in the manual.

Clearly I'm missing something here? Are the two devices not compatible?

breakshift said:
claims to program any AVR micro controller.

The AT89 series are NOT!!! AVR micros... They are Intel 8051 compatible micros and depending whether they are parallel or ISP flash types determines the circuitry you need...

I moved to Philips for that same reason... Phillips chips come with a bootloader, so they are easily programmed.