Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Electronic Scoreboard

Status
Not open for further replies.

scoreman

I am new to this so please bare with me
I am building an electronic scoreboard and it works more or less
The score is entered on computer and transmitted to a controller 25 / 50 yds away. The pic controller receives the input and outputs the details to 6 x (8inch) 7 segment displays I have made. The controller and 7 segment displays are driven by a 12v leisure battery.

In order to save power, the 7 segment displays are cycled through for 1 - 3 ms each . However they are not as bright as I expected. Is this normal given that they are being sequenced? How do you recommend I increase their brightness.
Each segment is 4 parallel sets of (4 leds in series)

The displays are common anode driven by BC147 / BD140 combination and the segments are earthed P16NF06

I have tried this but it doesn't make a lot of difference
Whilst increasing the On-Time helps a little, once I get to 4/5 ms per display you start to notice the flicker
I guess increasing the voltage might help or changing some of the circuit components

I have tried this but it doesn't make a lot of difference
Whilst increasing the On-Time helps a little, once I get to 4/5 ms per display you start to notice the flicker
I guess increasing the voltage might help or changing some of the circuit components

hi,
Please post the LED driver circuit section.